Luiz DaSilva

Research and publications in cognitive networks and wireless communications


Job openings

Post-doctoral researcher with primary emphasis on experimental, implementation-based research on reconfigurable radio and dynamic adaptation in wireless networks. More details here.

My Group


Sligo, 2017. From L: João, Erika, Maicon, Yi, Pedro, Federico, Andrei, Georgios, Farrukh, Conor, Jacek, Francisco, Monica, Jernej, Luiz, Jerome, and Boris.


Diamond Hill, Connemara, 2016.


Croagh Patrick, 2015. Back row (from L): Danny, Nick, Boris, Hamed, Jacek, Zaheer and Johann. Front row (from L): Luiz, Paolo, Francisco, João.


Killarney, Ireland, 2014. Top (from L): Danny, Francesco, Luiz, Johann, Boris and Nick. Bottom (from L): Francisco, Hamed, Paolo, Liam. Photographer: Jacek.

Post-doctoral researchers

  • Jacek Kibiłda
  • Andrea Hess
  • Andrei Marinescu
  • Georgios Ropokis
  • Yi Zhang
  • Diarmuid Collins
  • Francisco Paisana
  • Farrukh Bhatti

PhD students

  • Boris Galkin
  • Conor Sexton
  • Jernej Hribar
  • João Santos
  • Erika Fonseca

Recent, former group members:

Research Grants

My research focuses on distributed and adaptive resource management in wireless networks, and in particular cognitive radio networks and the application of game theory to wireless networks. I currently serve as a principal investigator in the following research grants:

  • L. A. DaSilva et al., “FUTEBOL: Federated Union of Telecommunications Research Facilities for an EU-Brazil Open Laboratory,” funded by the European Commission (Horizon 2020), 2016-2019.
  • I. Moerman et al., “eWINE: Elastic Wireless Networking Experimentation,” funded by the European Commission (Horizon 2020), 2016-2018.
  • L. A. DaSilva, A. B. MacKenzie, and M. Weiss, “Collaborative Research: Virtualized Wireless Networks and Their Impact on Capacity Markets,” funded by the National Science Foundation, 2015-2017.
  • L. A. DaSilva, N. Kaminski, and J. Marquez-Barja, “Federation and Virtualization of a Radio Testbed (FAVORITE),” funded by the European Commission (FP7), 2014-2016.
  • I. Moerman et al., “WiSHFUL: Wireless Software and Hardware platforms for Flexible and Unified radio and network control”, funded by the European Commission (Horizon 2020), 2015-2017.
  • L. Doyle et al., “CONNECT: The Centre for Future Networks and Communications,” funded by the Science Foundation Ireland, 2015-2020.
  • J. Domingue et al., “FORGE: Forging Online Education through FIRE,” funded by the European Commission (FP7), 2013-2016.
  • L. A. DaSilva, ‘The Self-Architecting Wireless Network: Transient Ownership, Information Sharing, and Learning,’ funded by the Science Foundation Ireland (Principal Investigator Program), 2011-2016.
  • L. E. Doyle et al. ‘Designing for Change: Evolvable, Sustainable, and Submissive Networks,’ funded by Science Foundation Ireland (Centres for Science, Engineering and Technology), 2011-2016.

Recently concluded projects include:

  • I. Moerman et al., ’CREW: Cognitive Radio Experimentation World,’ funded under Seventh Framework Programme call FP7-ICT-2009-5, 2010-2015.
  • L. A. DaSilva and F. Bader, “Generalized Frequency Division Multiplexing (GFDM) for the Next Generation of Wireless Systems,” Irish Research Council (Ulysses program), 2015.
  • L. A. DaSilva, Z. Han, Z. Khan, and M. Latva-aho, ‘Joint Adaptation of Multiple Cognitive Systems without Explicit Coordination,’ funded by the National Science Foundation, 2013-2015.
  • A. B. MacKenzie, L. A. DaSilva, J. Roning, and S. Glisic, ‘Economic Models for Collaborative Access Network Provisioning: US-Finland Collaboration,’ funded by the National Science Foundation (award number CNS-1147790), 2012-2014.
  • A. B. MacKenzie, L. A. DaSilva, and M. S. Thompson, ’NeTS: Small: Collaborative: The Flexible Internetwork Stack (FINS) Framework,’ funded by the National Science Foundation (award number CNS-0916300), 2009-2013.
  • P. Marques et al., ’COGEU: Cognitive Radio Systems for Efficient Sharing of TV White Spaces in European Context,’ funded by the European Commission, Seventh Framework Programme (FP7 ICT-248560), 2010-2012.
  • Y. Yang, L. A. DaSilva, and M. S. Hsiao, ’NeTS: An Open Architecture for the Evolutionary Design of Routing Protocols,’ funded by the National Science Foundation (award number CNS-0916873), 2009-2010.
%d bloggers like this: